Programming, Music, Games. Creation.

My GPU failure story part 2 of 2 : Tearing down your GPU

Continued from part 1..

AFTER AGES
MY COOLER ARRIVED

AFTER I FINISHED ALL THE PROJECTS

facepalm

:(

Anyway.

Boom.

The package includes cooler, power adapter, thermal glue, screws, and all the things you need to make a dolphin.

To make my life while detaching the cooler, I ran the card briefly and carried out the following process.
Almost burnt my fingers <3

Unscrew the cooler from the card, please unscrew diagonally – and don’t unscrew one at one shot.

Slowly separate the cooler from the card in a twisting motion.
Re-place any thermal pads left on the card back to the cooler and KEEP THE COOLER SAFELY ALTHOUGH IT DOES NOT WORK.
YOU MIGHT NEED IT ONE DAY! HOORAY!

4.5Plus, putting back the screws back to the cooler prevents you from losing them. Magical Sorcery.

Clean up the GPU and RAM modules :D

Use thermal glue to stick those block-looking things on the RAM :D
(GPU is not really clean here for some reason LOL)

Thing were going well until..

DMAN THING DID NOT FIT IN TO THE RIGHT HOLES *insert that’s what she said joke. HA. Haa.*

Whether it’s because my card is Black Label Edition from Rextech or not,
I had to flip around the metal piece to find the matching holes..
Turned out my 9600GT matches the smallest size ones! (hole 3 as I remember!)

After that circus, I was clueless what spacer I need to use, I simply picked the taller one
THIS IS SO RISKY. PLEASE DON’T EVER DO THIS – read the manual. You will end up frying your GPU.
But who gives a shit about 9600GT.

:D

After sticking legoblocks figuring out the right holes, I was finally ready to put the huge crown on my card.

UNTIL MORPHEUSMANUAL SPOKE TO ME

WHAT IF I TOLD YOU,
YOU HAVE TO WAIT 1 HOUR AFTER APPLYING THE THERMAL GLUE

“…”

NO MANUAL TELLS ME TO WAIT.

Manual lied to me about the holes. It must be lying this time too. :3

I just yoloED and finishED
the damn thing
without stupid waiting.
YE. IT RHYMES. HIPHOP.
sorry.

Ta-Da. Looks pretty badass.
Although it’s not shown here, I didn’t use external power adapter for the fan but simply plugged in 4-pin connector to the card.

This is pretty much how it looks sitting in my old rig.

NO COMMENT.

Now to the performance, was it worth it?

OMFG YES.
Rating 5 horses out of 2 dolphins.

Even when overclocked, idle temperature sits at 41 – VERY COOL.
I can now attempt higher oc with higher voltage :3
Its just 9600GT. Who gives a shit.

This proves that even cheap after market coolers are MUCH better than stock ones.
Plus, its dead silent. I hope its not dead.

In fact, my GPU now runs cooler than my CPU!
My CPU is at great disadvantage though, they are running on stock coolers..
And comparison are not really accurate since temperature nodes in CPUs (and I assume, even in GPUs) are not really built to measure temperature below 50C.

Games now run in stable FPS,
Dota 2 especially runs stable 60 now :)

ANYWAY

Will I ever do this again?

Fuck never.

But may be in future.. I really gta try out liquid cooling… Not in my current shit rig thou!

One response

  1. Pingback: My GPU failure story part 1 of 2 : How to detach your GPU | Bermuda's Unescapable Triangle

Leave a Reply

