Programming, Music, Games. Creation.

My GPU failure story part 1 of 2 : How to detach your GPU

It was one day, one rainy day, when the horrific incident occurred..

My GPU..
Its temperature at no where near half load..

SHOT UP ENOUGH TO BOIL WATER.

My GPU fans failed. It took me a while to realize – I noticed game lagged unusually more, I thought it was simply lack of optimization.
ima nub.

ANYWAYZ

I was SO lazy and decided to cheap out, leaving the case open and directly blowing a fan into the components.

1_lit

This kinda kept my GPU at descent temperature (50C idle, 100C gaming)
‘descent’… CLOSE ENOUGH. LOL

I kept my computer running like this for a month or two,
UNTIL MASSIVE ENDLESS CRAZY WTF HOLYFUCK LOADS OF GRAPHICAL WORK WERE DUMPED UPON ME

I just could not keep the GPU at optimal temperature to edit MASSIVELY BIG images :(

So I ended up ordering a GPU cooler (since local computer shop is notorious for ripping off)

Arctic

Ordered Arctic Accelero L2 Plus!
One of many which supports 9600GT… <There is a reason for the presence of …dotdotdot

Until the cooler arrives, I realized making my 9600GT suffer more won’t be the best option
so I swapped to my old shitter 8600GT.

Well. My 9600GT buried in chaos.

Well. My 9600GT buried in chaos.

JUST incase someone as noob as me has no clue how to detach the vga..

1. Unscrew , 2. Press and Pull out your GPU, 3. Detach the power cable(s)

*facepalm* This is my primary school vga..

History at a glace.

I thought the cooler will fit perfectly at that point

I was horribly wrong LOLOLOL

Continued in part 2

One response

  1. Pingback: My GPU failure story part 2 of 2 : Tearing down your GPU | Bermuda's Unescapable Triangle

Leave a Reply

